Florida Auto Insurance
Mercury Auto Insurance in Florida
If you're looking for auto insurance in Florida, you've come to the right place. Mercury's Florida page has information on state driving laws, some interesting Sunshine State facts, and best of all you can learn about Mercury's many products and services.
Mercury has been selling auto insurance since 1962, and is trusted by millions of drivers. In fact, Forbes.com has named Mercury Insurance one of America's Most Trusted Companies, so you can count on Mercury to be there when you need us most. And, you won't find better coverage at a better price. Here are a few of the Mercury products sold in Florida:
For a fast, free quote, call (800) 956-3728.
Did you know . . .
Year-round weather and pristine beaches have made Florida a premier destination for tourists, snow-birds, retirees and full-time residents. In 1845, Florida was the 27th state admitted to the Union. However, Saint Augustine, located in Northern Florida, is the oldest European settlement in North America. Founded in 1513, the Old City is still a popular tourist attraction today.
Florida driving — what you need to know.
All 50 states have some version of Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) for teen drivers. GDL is a program that gradually phases in driving privileges for new teen drivers, as they gain experience behind the wheel. In Florida, teens must be a minimum of 15 years of age to obtain a Learner License. Mercury offers some of the most competitive rates available for teen drivers, so talk to a Mercury agent today to see how much you can save. You'll be glad you did!
Mercury Insurance is sold through a network of independent agents and brokers. We have agents in every major market who want to help you every step of the way. Mercury offers comprehensive coverage options ranging from personal auto insurance to mechanical breakdown protection. Mercury also sells business auto insurance. You can count on us for low rates and excellent coverage.
If you've recently moved to the State of Florida, or are looking to brush up on Florida's vehicle registration laws, driver licensing requirements, and occupational licensing rules, go to: http://www.flhsmv.gov/index.html. Beginning January 2010, Florida has new documentation requirements for residents renewing or obtaining new driver license or identification cards.
Must Have Coverage in Florida
Personal Injury Protection
The minimum required personal injury protection coverage in Florida is:
- $10,000 Minimum
Property Damage Liability
The minimum required property damage liability coverage in Florida is:
- $10,000 Minimum
What is meant by "Florida Coverage"?
Florida coverage is an insurance policy delivered or issued for delivery in Florida by an insurance company licensed by the Florida Department of Financial Services.
Can I maintain my current policy issued in my previous state of residence?
No. The minimum required insurance must be issued through a Florida agent with an insurance company licensed to sell in Florida. Most insurers have Florida agents and are licensed to issue policies in Florida. Just ask your agent to transfer your current insurance to Florida when you register a vehicle in Florida.
I live outside Florida for six months a year. When not in Florida, my vehicle is in storage and not used. Must I maintain automobile insurance?
Yes. Any vehicle holding a valid Florida license plate and registration must be covered by a Florida insurance policy throughout the entire registration period. When you leave Florida, you may surrender your license plate and registration at the nearest driver license or Tax Collector office to avoid maintaining your policy. You can always register your vehicle upon your return to Florida, at which time you can provide proof of Florida insurance.